DixieI decided to become a pet sitter because I am an “animal” person and wanted to find a job where I could interact with animals and provide a service as well. I have a dog and two cats and from my personal experience, it’s hard for me to find people that I fully trust to love and care for my pets when I go out of town. When I go out of town, I don’t want to worry about my pets when I’m gone. It’s a huge responsibility to take care of someone’s pets when they are not around and since I completely understand that kind of responsibility, I thought that I would be great at pet sitting for people.

My favorite thing about animals is that each animal has their own personality, just like people. They have their own likes and dislikes and idea of how they like to interact with people and other animals. I love getting to know all types of animal personalities. My two cats are littermates and have opposite personalities – one likes a lot of attention and the other is very independent. Even though I love them the same amount, I treat them differently because of their distinct personalities.

I have a dog that we got from a shelter. She’s a bloodhound, golden/Labrador retriever mix as best we can tell. She’s around 80 pounds and her tongue always sticks out, which is super cute and adds to her charm. She’s lovable and adorable. I have a tuxedo cat and a pure black cat. They were rescued as well and I couldn’t decide which one to rescue and I didn’t want to split them up, so I adopted them both when they were kittens. I’m very blessed that all of my pets get along with each other and have fun personalities. My cats are very personable. If I had more time and more land, I would love to have horses and more cats and dogs.

I have always had animals. I grew up with several English Springer Spaniels and a barn kitty. Plus, I owned and showed American Quarter Horses while I was growing up. In the past, I have also had rabbits and guinea pigs. I love them all, big or small. I’m not a stereotypical “dog” person or “cat” person. I am an “animal” person because I love all animals.

I grew up in Woodinville, Washington. I later moved to Fort Worth to attend Texas Christian University. After graduating college, I moved to the Houston area and soon later to The Woodlands after getting married.

I’m married to a wonderful husband. I have a 13-year-old daughter who swims competitively for The Woodlands Swim Team. I have a 9-year-old son who plays soccer for The Texas Rush Soccer Club. I’m lucky enough to have parents and a younger sister that moved to The Woodlands shortly after I did because we all love the area.

In the past I’ve worked for a publishing services company, a bank, and did proofreading for court reporters.

In my free time I enjoy drawing and painting, attending swim meets or soccer games, and running with my dog.